AWEA MCP-18050
Key Specifications
Spindle Taper
Tool Capacity
Table Size
Spindle Power
x axis travel
y axis travel
How much does the AWEA MCP-18050 cost?
Price estimate
We do not have a price for the AWEA MCP-18050 that we can stand behind, so we show no number. Configuration, options and installation move the final price a long way: a quote is the reliable figure.
Overview
The AWEA MCP-18050 has a fixed table 18,000 x 3,800 mm (708.7 x 149.6 in), and most of what makes it useful follows from the fact that the table never moves. Parts are craned onto a stationary surface. AWEA describes a big, open machining area with low side structures and a very low profile, both aimed at making loading and unloading of large workpieces easier and safer.
A table this long is rarely filled by one part. With 18,000 mm (708.7 in) of X travel the usual pattern is to split it into zones: one job is cut at one end while the next is set up at the other, and the column moves between them. The magazine travels with the column, so each zone has the full tool set available without a trip back to a home position.
Floor area is the other argument. A moving table machine needs room for the table to run out at both ends. AWEA puts the saving plainly: moving column type machines use 40 % less space than fixed column type machines. At this bed length that difference decides whether the machine fits in an existing bay.
The working figures are 5,400 mm (212.6 in) in Y and 1,400 mm (55.1 in) in Z, a BBT50 spindle with a 22 / 26 kW (29.5 / 34.9 hp) motor, and a 40T magazine. Attachment heads are changed automatically for side faces. Next in length are the MCP-16050 with 16,000 mm (629.9 in) of X and the MCP-20050 with 20,000 mm (787.4 in).
Full Specifications
| Parameter | Value |
|---|---|
| X Axis Travel | 18,000 mm (708.7 in) |
| Y Axis Travel | 5,400 mm (212.6 in) |
| Z Axis Travel | 1,400 mm (55.1 in) (1,600 mm Opt.) |
| Table Size | 18,000 x 3,800 mm (708.7 x 149.6 in) |
| Distance Spindle Nose to Table | 800 ~ 2,200 mm (31.5 ~ 86.6 in) (600 ~ 2,200 mm Opt.) |
| Distance Between Columns with X Axis Covers | 4,700 mm (4,500 mm) |
| Spindle Taper | BBT50 |
| Spindle Motor Power | 22 / 26 kW (29.5 / 34.9 hp) |
| Spindle Speed Vertical | 4,000 Gear Spindle (Std.);5,000 / 6,000 Gear Spindle (Opt.);8,000 / 12,000 Built-in Spindle (Opt.) |
| Rapid Traverse Xyz | 10 / 7.5 / 10 m/min (394 / 295 / 394 ipm) |
| Cutting Feed Rate | 1 ~ 10 m/min (39 ~ 394 ipm) |
| Tool Capacity | 40T (60T Opt.) |
| Max Tool Diameter (full magazine) | Ø125 / Ø200 mm (Ø4.9 / Ø7.9 in) |
| Max Tool Length | 400 mm (15.7 in) |
| Max Tool Weight | 20 kg (44 lb) |
| Coolant Tank Capacity | 4,000 liter |
| Lubrication Tank Capacity | 6 liter |
| Hydraulic Tank Capacity | 100 liter |
| Air Pressure Requirement | 5 ~ 8 (5) kg/cm² |
| Power Requirement | 220 ± 10 % Vac / 80 kVA |
Specifications sourced from awea.com — verified 2026-10-04
Strengths & Limitations
Strengths
- Stationary 18,000 x 3,800 mm (708.7 x 149.6 in) table that can be divided into separate setup zones
- Low side structures and an open machining area for crane loading
- Moving column layout, which AWEA says uses 40 % less space than a fixed column machine
- Column-mounted magazine keeps the whole 40T tool set available anywhere along X
- Automatic head changer is standard for work on side faces
Limitations
- Maximum table load is not stated, which matters when several heavy parts share the table
- Cutting feed is limited to 1 ~ 10 m/min (39 ~ 394 ipm)
- Y rapid is 7.5 m/min (295 ipm)
- Length comes in fixed steps: the nearest alternatives are the MCP-16050 and the MCP-20050, with nothing in between
Best For
Frequently Asked Questions
01
The layout supports it: the table is fixed, 18,000 x 3,800 mm (708.7 x 149.6 in), and the column with its magazine moves along it. Whether an operator may work at one end while the machine cuts at the other depends on guarding and zone separation, which AWEA's page does not describe. Raise it when specifying the machine.
02
AWEA states that moving column type machines use 40 % less space than fixed column type machines. The maker gives no footprint dimensions for the MCP-18050 on its specification page, so the layout drawing has to be requested for bay planning.
03
AWEA's table for the MCP series does not state one. It gives the table size, 18,000 x 3,800 mm (708.7 x 149.6 in), but no load figure for any model in the group. Ask the maker for the permitted load before planning heavy castings or several parts on the table at once.
04
From above or from the side onto a table that stays still. AWEA points to low side structures and a big, open machining area for convenient and safe loading of large workpieces. Clearance between the columns is 4,700 mm, or 4,500 mm with X-axis covers, and the spindle nose rises to 2,200 mm (86.6 in) above the table.