Fadal VMC 4022
Image: fadal.com, Fadal
Key Specifications
Max Spindle
Spindle Taper
Table Size
x axis travel
y axis travel
z axis travel
How much does the Fadal VMC 4022 cost?
Price estimate
We do not have a price for the Fadal VMC 4022 that we can stand behind, so we show no number. Configuration, options and installation move the final price a long way: a quote is the reliable figure.
Overview
Fadal's VMC 4022 pairs a 40 x 22 in (1,016 x 559 mm) table with travels that match it exactly: 40 in (1,016 mm) in X and 22 in (559 mm) in both Y and Z. The whole table surface is reachable by the spindle, which is not true of every machine in this size class. Table load is 1,760 lb (798 kg).
This is the linear roller guideway machine in the 40 in bracket. All three axes rapid at 1,410 ipm (35.8 m/min), and Fadal lists a cutting feed rate of 393 ipm (10.0 m/min). The VMC 4020 covers the same X travel on box ways at 1,000 ipm (25.4 m/min) and with a 1,320 lb (599 kg) table load, so the newer design is both quicker and able to carry more.
Fadal publishes less about this model than about its siblings. The table gives a CAT-40 spindle, 10,000 rpm and belt drive. It states no torque, no motor power, no tool capacity and no tool change time, and the standard feature list does not name a tool changer size either; the only magazine figure on the page is a 30 Tool ATC among the options. Anyone comparing spindles should get those numbers in writing.
What the feature lists do say is useful. A spindle oil cooler, spindle air blast, rigid tapping, 3-stage chip separation and a full enclosure are standard. Coolant through the spindle comes at two levels, a prep and a complete system, both optional. The machine weighs 12,125 lb (5,500 kg) and measures 95 x 102 x 102 in (2,413 x 2,591 x 2,591 mm), shorter in length but wider than the VMC 4020 at 109 x 87 x 110 in (2,769 x 2,210 x 2,794 mm).
Full Specifications
| Parameter | Value |
|---|---|
| X Axis Travel | 40 in (1,016 mm) |
| Y Axis Travel | 22 in (559 mm) |
| Z Axis Travel | 22 in (559 mm) |
| Distance Spindle Nose to Table | 4.75-27.56 in (121-700 mm) |
| Table Size | 40 x 22 in (1,016 x 559 mm) |
| Max Table Load | 1,760 lb (798 kg) |
| Spindle Taper | CAT-40 |
| Max Spindle Speed | 10,000 rpm |
| Spindle Drive Type | Belt Drive |
| Cutting Feed Rate | 393 ipm (10.0 m/min) |
| Rapid Traverse Xyz | 1,410 / 1,410 / 1,410 ipm (35.8 / 35.8 / 35.8 m/min) |
| Machine Weight | 12,125 lb (5,500 kg) |
| Machine Dimensions | 95 x 102 x 102 in (2,413 x 2,591 x 2,591 mm) (L x W x H) |
Specifications sourced from fadal.com — verified 2026-10-04
Strengths & Limitations
Strengths
- Travels of 40 x 22 in (1,016 x 559 mm) in X and Y cover the entire 40 x 22 in (1,016 x 559 mm) table
- Rapids of 1,410 ipm (35.8 m/min) on X, Y and Z with linear roller guideway construction
- Table load of 1,760 lb (798 kg), above the 1,320 lb (599 kg) of the VMC 4020
- Spindle nose to table range of 4.75-27.56 in (121-700 mm) with 22 in (559 mm) of Z
- Coolant through the spindle can be ordered as a prep only or as a complete system
Limitations
- Fadal's table for this model gives no spindle torque or motor power figure
- Tool capacity and tool change time are not stated; the page names only an optional 30 Tool ATC
- No higher-speed spindle appears in the option list; the table shows 10,000 rpm only
- Chip conveyor, touch probe and 4th axis prewire are options
Best For
Frequently Asked Questions
01
X is 40 in (1,016 mm), Y is 22 in (559 mm) and Z is 22 in (559 mm). The table is 40 x 22 in (1,016 x 559 mm), so X and Y travel equal the table dimensions. Spindle nose to table distance runs 4.75-27.56 in (121-700 mm).
02
Both have 40 in (1,016 mm) of X. The VMC 4022 is built on linear roller guideways with 1,410 ipm (35.8 m/min) rapids, 22 in (559 mm) of Y and a 1,760 lb (798 kg) table load. The VMC 4020 has box ways, 1,000 ipm (25.4 m/min) rapids, 20 in (508 mm) of Y and a 1,320 lb (599 kg) table load, and its table lists spindle torque of 220 ft-lb (298 Nm), a figure Fadal does not give for this model.
03
Fadal's table lists a CAT-40 taper, 10,000 rpm and belt drive. Torque and motor power are not stated for this model. A spindle oil cooler and spindle air blast are standard, and coolant through the spindle is optional, either as a prep or as a complete system.
04
The specification table does not say. The only magazine size on Fadal's page for this model is a 30 Tool ATC in the option list, which implies a smaller standard changer. Ask Fadal for the standard capacity, the tool change time and the tool size limits before ordering.
05
With options, yes. Fadal lists a 4th axis prewire, a 4 axis ready servo disconnect and a 4th/5th axis servo disconnect for simultaneous use, plus RTCP. Rotary tables on the list include the FR-10D and the tilting FTR-8D. The controller is described as 5 axis compatible.