DMG Mori DMU 270 P FD
Image: dmgmori.com, DMG Mori
Key Specifications
X Travel
Y Travel
Z Travel
Tool Capacity
Max Workpiece ⌀
max workpiece height
How much does the DMG Mori DMU 270 P FD cost?
Estimated price range
Our best estimate for a 5-axis machining center in this class — not a quote from DMG Mori. Configuration moves it a long way.
Overview
A workpiece diameter of 3,400 mm (133.9 in) and a load limit of 12,000 kg (26,455.5 lb) define the DMG MORI DMU 270 P FD, a 5-axis mill-turn machine whose linear axes travel 2,700 × 2,700 × 1,600 mm (106.3 × 106.3 × 63 in). Parts can stand up to 1,960 mm (77.2 in) tall. In the P FD range it sits between the DMU 210 P FD, with 2,100 × 2,100 × 1,250 mm (82.7 × 82.7 × 49.2 in), and the DMU 340 P FD, with 3,400 × 3,400 × 2,000 mm (133.9 × 133.9 × 78.7 in).
Turning happens on a DirectDrive table rated at up to 8,113.2 ft lb, so a part moves from turned diameters to milled and drilled features without leaving the table. DMG MORI also lists grinding as an integrated technology. With a 12-tonne casting the gain is mostly in handling: every crane lift and re-clamp that is avoided protects the relationship between the turned and the milled features.
Two mismatches in the envelope deserve a look before a part is committed. The 3,400 mm diameter limit is wider than the 2,700 mm of X and Y, and the 1,960 mm height limit is more than the 1,600 mm of Z. A part at either limit fits on the table but is not reachable everywhere with every tool length, so the setup has to be planned around table rotation and the vertically moving cross beam.
For milling there is a powerMASTER motor spindle with up to 737.6 ft lb or a torqueMASTER gear spindle with 1,327.6 ft lb. Feed speed reaches 2,362 ipm, with feed power up to 10,116 lbf. The wheel type magazine takes up to 243 tools. On the installation side, a 2,500 l band filter unit is standard, and the bed rests on a 3-point support for which DMG MORI says no foundation is required.
Full Specifications
| Parameter | Value |
|---|---|
| Max Workpiece Diameter | 3,400 mm (133.9 in) |
| Max Workpiece Height | 1,960 mm (77.2 in) |
| Max Workpiece Weight | 12,000 kg (26,455.5 lb) |
| X-Axis Travel | 2,700 mm (106.3 in) |
| Y-Axis Travel | 2,700 mm (106.3 in) |
| Z-Axis Travel | 1,600 mm (63 in) |
| Tool Capacity | up to 243 tools (wheel type magazine) |
| Table Torque | up to 8,113.2 ft lb (DirectDrive table) |
| Spindle Torque | powerMASTER motor spindle up to 737.6 ft lb; torqueMASTER gear spindle 1,327.6 ft lb |
| Feed Rate Max | up to 2,362 ipm |
| Feed Force | up to 10,116 lbf |
| Band Filter Unit | 2,500 l as standard |
Specifications sourced from dmgmori.com — verified 2026-10-02
Strengths & Limitations
Strengths
- Takes parts up to 3,400 mm (133.9 in) in diameter, 1,960 mm (77.2 in) tall and 12,000 kg (26,455.5 lb)
- DirectDrive table rated at up to 8,113.2 ft lb for turning in the same setup as 5-axis milling
- Feed speed up to 2,362 ipm and feed power up to 10,116 lbf on axes of 2,700 mm (106.3 in)
- torqueMASTER gear spindle with 1,327.6 ft lb available for heavy cuts
- Band filter unit with 2,500 l is standard equipment
- Up to 243 tools in a wheel type magazine with a small footprint
Limitations
- Z travel of 1,600 mm (63 in) is shorter than the 1,960 mm (77.2 in) maximum part height, which restricts tool reach on tall workpieces
- X and Y travel of 2,700 mm (106.3 in) does not span the 3,400 mm (133.9 in) diameter limit without table rotation
- No spindle speed or spindle power is stated for the powerMASTER or the torqueMASTER
- The 243-tool figure is an upper limit; the size of the standard magazine is not stated
Best For
Frequently Asked Questions
01
DMG MORI lists a maximum workpiece diameter of 3,400 mm (133.9 in), a maximum height of 1,960 mm (77.2 in) and a maximum weight of 12,000 kg (26,455.5 lb). Travels are 2,700 mm (106.3 in) in X and Y and 1,600 mm (63 in) in Z, so both the diameter and the height limits exceed what the linear axes cover on their own.
02
Turning is done on a DirectDrive table with a torque of up to 8,113.2 ft lb, combined with milling in one setup. The listed data does not state the table's maximum speed, so ask for it if you turn smaller diameters where surface speed depends on rpm.
03
DMG MORI names a powerMASTER motor spindle with up to 737.6 ft lb and a torqueMASTER gear spindle with 1,327.6 ft lb. The gear spindle delivers 80% more torque, which is what large-diameter cutters in steel need. Speeds and power ratings are not part of the listed data.
04
It is the middle size. The DMU 210 P FD travels 2,100 × 2,100 × 1,250 mm (82.7 × 82.7 × 49.2 in) and the DMU 340 P FD 3,400 × 3,400 × 2,000 mm (133.9 × 133.9 × 78.7 in). The DMU 270 P FD lies between them at 2,700 × 2,700 × 1,600 mm (106.3 × 106.3 × 63 in), with a 12,000 kg (26,455.5 lb) workpiece limit.
05
A band filter unit with 2,500 l comes as standard and needs its own floor space. The machine stands on a 3-point support with an inherently stiff bed, and DMG MORI states that no foundation is required. The feed drive is water-cooled and the linear guideways are cooled. Machine weight and connected power are not in the listed data, so request them with the layout drawing.
Videos
Grupo Erofio
Community Discussions
Links to community discussions. Summaries are editorial — visit the original thread for full context.
